Almond & Pepita Not-tella 

  

As an adult, I’ve learned to master self-control in just about every area of my life. 

I can successfully avoid almost every temptation that will not serve me. I’ve learned how to tame my impulsive urges, sacrificing instant pleasure for lasting bliss.

But there is one chocolatey jar of evil, hazelnut divinity whose presence I cannot be trusted in. I have been known to devour tablespoons full of this delicious Italian condiment in a possessed-like state only to induce a severe sugar coma and the inevitable remorse that comes from consuming vegetable oil, low grade ingredients and a tonne of sugar. 

Although it has been quite some time since my last Nutella relapse, I thought I’d create an action plan to prevent future Ferrero attacks – introducing “Not-tella”.

Not only is it unsweetened and free from carcinogenic oils and crappy milk solids, it is full of omega fats and minerals that make it healthy for you – the simple fact that it is sugar free means you won’t keep wanting to eat more, unlike its seductive supermarket counterpart.

I have made this with almonds and pepitas as I didn’t have any hazelnuts, but with the success of this recipe I’ll be attempting a more authentic hazelnut Not-tella very soon!!
Enjoy!

What you need:

  • 700g roasted almonds (preferably activated)
  • 350g roasted pepitas 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 cup raw cacao

What you do:



All ingredients except coconut oil into your food processor on high speed for 10-15 minutes until natural oils are released and a butter is formed. At this stage you can add coconut oil, process a further 5 minutes, scraping down sides occasionally. 
   
   
Jar and store in cupboard or refrigerator. 

Mine has kept 3 weeks and is still going strong 👌

Leave a Reply

