Golden Milk – Turmeric Tea

  
Deciding to avoid coffee and give my poor old adrenal glands a rest is proving to be both a wonderful and traumatic experience. Wonderful in that I am experiencing my natural energy levels return and can embrace a non-caffeinated love for life that is second to none.

  

Traumatic, in that I still yearn for this strong, short black ex-lover of 22 years, a passionate relationship of cortisol highs and lows. De-conditioning my behaviour patterns in terms of when I poured my beautiful espresso is also proving to be a psychological war with self. 

Luckily I’m kicking ass and feeling great!! 

Made all the easier by discovering delicious alternatives that are a pleasure to prepare and nourish the body and soul – like this ancient Indian Golden Tea. 

I’ve talked about terrific turmeric before in  Kefir Turmeric Smoothie and it’s incredible therapeutic qualities. It’s difficult to describe turmeric in brief simply because it has so many beneficial properties. That’s why the “spice of life,” as it’s known in India, sums it up wonderfully.

This recipe appeals to me because it is so simple, pleasurable and quick to make, just like my ol’ mate. And will leave your adrenals in tact too!
  

  

What you need:

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 cm cube fresh ginger
  • 1/2 tspn black pepper
  • 1 tspn turmeric
  • 1/2 tspn cinnamon
  • 1/3 tspn ground cloves
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup or honey 

What you do:

  • All ingredients into blender and blend for 1 minute
  • Transfer to small saucepan and heat until nearly simmering. It will look deliciously creamy 

Enjoy!! 

Leave a Reply

