Almond Brazil Nut Butter

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c10/61633628/files/2014/12/img_0759.jpg

I struggle to enjoy the present giving/receiving ceremony, as I have usually avoided the terror of Christmas shopping until the very last minute when I frantically select gifts for important people in my life with a view that if I don’t find the perfect materialistic representation of my love for them before the final grains of sand pass through the Westfield trading hour-glass our relationship will be forever doomed.

Luckily, this year was a particularly amusing and effortless Christmas for gift exchange.

The theme of homemade gifts meant that I could leisurely open my pantry doors and let whatever ingredients I had in abundance do the decision making for me. Almonds and Brazil Nuts were my soldiers ready for battle and they fared well against some creative and inspiring gifts of labour and love.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c10/61633628/files/2014/12/img_0766.jpg
(Tam’s DIY hardware chess set!)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c10/61633628/files/2014/12/img_0768.jpg

(Paul’s Homemade pesto stored in a handmade box screwed shut and frozen with confidant messages of product quality… ? …)

I think this is a theme worth repeating! No crowds, carols or car parks!

What you need:

1 kg raw almonds
1/2 kg Brazil nuts
1/3 cup coconut oil
2 teaspoon cinnamon
3 teaspoon vanilla extract

What you do:

Roast nuts in oven @ 200 degrees for 12 minutes. This is optional, you could use raw nuts but be prepared to hang out with your food processor a bit longer.

Throw nuts in food processor and blend on high until it starts become very thick. (10 minutes) You’ll need to scrape down the sides often. When the oils start to release from the nuts it will start to resemble a butter, add coconut oil, cinnamon and vanilla and blend until it is lovely and spreadable.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c10/61633628/files/2014/12/img_0756-0.jpg

This can take about 20 minutes so be patient. I used this time to think about the people I would give this to and how lucky I am to have met them and have them in my life – but you could also do the hula, whatever.

Leave a Reply

